Atlanta Kookaburras

Coopers Brewery

Dorsey Alston

chef cordel catering

Braden Medders MVPHuge congratulations to Braden Medders who took out the coveted Atlanta Kookaburras MVP - Mike Powers Medal this past Friday night. In a close finish Braden picked up 47 votes to just hang on in front of last years winner Ryan Downey who was Runner-Up MVP.

Braden Medders first played in 2010 in the local AARFL Metro competition before debuting against Nashville and since that time has been a rock in the backline. Normally you can see him at Full Back where he has solidified that role as his own for the Kookaburras for many years. Recruited by the one and only big Dave Evans, Braden has established himself as an important part of the Kookaburras success over many many years playing 80 Kookaburras games and countless local and social games.

Other special award winners were Will McDonald who in his first year was awarded the Best Clubman Award and George Huntzicker picked up the Best First Year Player. Best at Nationals was awarded to Basil Benjamin, another player in his first year with the club and to continue on that theme the Coaches Award was taken out by another first year player Max Freudenberg,

Leading Goalkicker Award was won by Tom Gultom and awards were also given out to players for the 2018 AFLS leagues, the Atlanta Social Aussie Footy competitions. Shaunna Chamlee won that award for the women and Ben Kora for the men's competitions respectively. Both Shaunna and Ben were also new players to the organization this year and showed AFLS is a great way to introduce new players to the sport and broaden the awareness of the game of Aussie Rules football to the wider Atlanta sporting landscape.

Congratulations to all winners. You can see more photos on our Facebook or Instagram sites coming soon.


Where We Play

2020 Playing at NH Scott Park

Google Map it here



twitter youtube 32 fb ig32