Atlanta Kookaburras

Coopers Brewery

Dorsey Alston

chef cordel catering

Ryan Downey MVPThe Atlanta Kookaburras are very pleased to announce that Ryan Downey has won the 2017 MVP and Mike Powers Medal. In a close count of the the votes for the 2017 MVP and Best & Fairest Award, Ryan nudged out club captain Brett Hester by two votes, his second runner-up trophy in as many years.

Tieing for third was first year player Chris Drick who after making his debut this year showed that after a few weeks you can be a great player in this sport. Chris also received the Coaches Award from Head Coach Brent Bacon. Other ties for third were Steve Townley and Wayne Kraska.

Ryan Downey also collected the coveted Best Clubman Award for his overall contribution to the clubs activities and goals on and off the field.

A Most Improved Award was awarded to another rookie Brian DePue and Best at Nationals went to Wayne Kraska.

The Award Winners

  • Best & Fairest 2017 – 
    ​Ryan Downey
     (+ perpetual) & Mike Powers Medal
  • Runner-Up Best & Fairest 2017 - 
    ​Brett Hester
  • Best First Year Player 2017 – Chris Drick
  • Coaches Award 2017 – Chris Drick
  • Best Clubman 2017 – Ryan Downey (+ perpetual)
  • Most Improved 2017 - Brian DePue
  • Best at Nationals 2017 - 
    ​Wayne Kraska

To see a full list of the Atlanta Kookaburras MVP votes for 2017 have a look here..

Congratulations to all the winners.

Picture: Ryan receiving his MVP award, Perpetual Trophy  and Mike Powers Medal from Head Coach and 2017 Life Member Brent Bacon.

Where We Play

2020 Playing at NH Scott Park

Google Map it here



twitter youtube 32 fb ig32